Cricket: Cricket Australia’s 2014-15 Contract List

Yesterday, Chairman of Selectors from Cricket Australia, John Inverarity announced the central contract list for 2014-15. The list is:

George Bailey, Michael Clarke, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Phillip Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Chris Rogers, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Shane Watson.

Dropping of the contract list from last year are: Ed Cowan, Patrick Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, Clint McKay and Matthew Wade.

There were also a number of players who received contract upgrades in 2013-14 during that season who did not receive new contract as well: Alex Doolan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Usman Khawaja and Adam Voges.

Obviously the player most surprisingly left of the list is Alex Doolan. Otherwise I do not believe that there is anything really to complain about in the make up of the list. Each of the players have contributed significantly to the success of the Australian team over the last 12 months, WT20 debacle notwithstanding, and have earned their contracts in my view.

Bring on Season 2014-15!!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: