Cricket: Prime Minister’s XI named … why are we rewarding T20 mercenaries?!

The National Selection Panel and the Prime Minister have named the Prime Minister’s XI to play England at Manuka Oval on January 14.

The full team is:

  • Brett Lee (Captain) NSW
  • Jackson Bird TAS
  • Ben Cutting QLD
  • Peter Handscomb (wk) VIC
  • Brad Hodge VIC
  • Chris Lynn QLD
  • Alister McDermott QLD
  • James Muirhead VIC
  • Luke Pomersbach QLD
  • Clive Rose TAS
  • Michael Spaseski ACT
  • Shane Devoy (12th man) ACT

The selections of Chris Lynn and Alister McDermott is particularly pleasing as they have been in excellent form across all forms of the game for the Queensland Bulls and Brisbane Heat.

The only question mark that I have is the inclusion of Brett Lee and Brad Hodge in this line up.  Surely there are two experienced players in the domestic set up who actually are more than T20 mercenaries who could have been selected.  The experienced Bollinger and Copeland have been in great form and could have been the additional bowler.  Marcus North is the form batsman of the Sheffield Shield and has was also in good form in the Ryobi Cup and could have been captain.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: